MISSING CAROLINE

We are far away from each other
only the memories stand,
unbeaten by the years.
Despite the rains and the storms

at sea that hurt the broken heart,
I see again your gentle smile
And your prayers for me,
that comes through from our rural cottage.
Ah nightmares hunt my nights
when sleep brings you to my dreams
I seek rest in tears, torn apart by in-depth penury,
on rich and fertile westlands
away from your warm and feverous hold.
Here I feel the killing cold, like ticks upon my strands,
till the day I come into your bright and willing embrace
my bitter lot I strive to contain.

Copyright © Charles Okafor

Leave a Reply

